partials-coverI did not think I would like this book after I found out it was a young adult (YA) novel. I usually don’t read those types of books, however I do like the movies like Hunger Games, Maze Runner and Divergent. So, I figured I would give this a shot. The nice thing like about the summary of this book was that it was a realist scenario. Scientists come up with a way to make a better human being, a super human if you will, the government uses them to their advantage and discards them when they have served their purpose. Never learning from the mistakes we have made in history over and over again. So these super humans rebelled and because they were meant to be smarter and stronger and enhanced in many other ways they won. But what happened next they could have never planned for. Humanity dying off because of some incurable disease. The book is definitely worth a read and the end leaves you read to dive right into the next book which is what I plan on doing now. Hope you Enjoy – Norman LaVelle

Overview

For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war’s origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one’s own point of view.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

To Purchase this Title: Click Here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s